Proficiency in Survival Craft and Rescue Boats (STCW PSCRB)

About this course

 This course prepares crew for the launching and handling of survival craft.

A series of practical exercises using a range of open and enclosed lifeboats and inflatable rescue boats build confidence, competence and knowledge of safety procedures.

What our students say

  • "The amount of practical training was excellent.  The fact that you can practice real life situations in all positions on all types of survival craft is excellent." December 2012
  • "Very good comprehensive and well run course.  Good facilities and equipment and excellent staff knowledge. The two instructors' experience and teaching techniques made the course a success." December 2012
  • "Excellent course. Very enjoyable teaching; very helpful and informative. Thanks." November 2012
  • "Teaching and practical sessions was extremely marvellous; I enjoyed every bit of it. Many thanks to the instructors." November 2012
  • "Course was very well structured and appropriate content throughout. Experience and variety of instructor skill sets and instructional techniques was good." September 2012
  • "The instruction was particularly good; the instructors are enthusiastic about the subject and I was very happy with the practical instructions. I feel I now have a good understanding of the subject." September 2012
  • "All instructors and examiners were very knowledgeable, friendly and had good, relevant experience. Both classroom and pier head facilities were excellent. Looking forward to more courses at Warsash." July 2012

How to book

Please contact the admissions team if you require more information about this course:

Telephone: +44 (0)23 8201 5004 
Email: wma.training@solent.ac.uk

Normal office hours are (UK time):
Monday - Thursday: 08.30 - 17.00
Friday 08.30 - 16.30

Please be aware that online bookings will be confirmed with joining information within one working day of the booking being made. Confirmation of payment should be received in the normal way.

Please ensure that you follow the booking process and do not enter payment details more than once, unless you are booking more than one course. If you experience any issues, please email wma.training@solent.ac.uk.

 

Course availability and booking

Availability
Date Places Fee Book
Monday 5 June 2017 No £720 Enquire
Monday 12 June 2017 No £720 Enquire
Monday 19 June 2017 Yes £720 Enquire
Monday 26 June 2017 No £720 Enquire
Monday 10 July 2017 Yes £720 Book
Monday 17 July 2017 Yes £720 Book
Monday 24 July 2017 Yes £720 Book
Monday 31 July 2017 No £720 Enquire
Monday 4 September 2017 Yes £740 Enquire
Monday 11 September 2017 Yes £740 Enquire
Monday 18 September 2017 Yes £740 Enquire
Monday 25 September 2017 Yes £740 Enquire
Monday 2 October 2017 Yes £740 Enquire
Monday 9 October 2017 Yes £740 Enquire
Monday 16 October 2017 Yes £740 Enquire
Monday 30 October 2017 Yes £740 Enquire
Monday 6 November 2017 Yes £740 Enquire
Monday 20 November 2017 Yes £740 Enquire
Monday 27 November 2017 Yes £740 Enquire
Monday 4 December 2017 Yes £740 Enquire
Monday 11 December 2017 Yes £740 Enquire
Monday 8 January 2018 Yes £740 Enquire
Monday 22 January 2018 Yes £740 Enquire
Monday 5 February 2018 Yes £740 Enquire
Monday 12 February 2018 Yes £740 Enquire
Monday 19 February 2018 Yes £740 Enquire
Monday 26 February 2018 Yes £740 Enquire
Monday 5 March 2018 Yes £740 Enquire
Monday 12 March 2018 Yes £740 Enquire

Course information

Next available date

Monday 19 June 2017

Duration

5 Days

Price

£720

Approvals

MCA

Assessment

Oral questioning and practical exercises.

Prerequisites

For crew with suitable sea service experience.

Students require one of the following:

  • An approved Personal Survival Techniques certificate
  • Basic sea survival
  • Royal Navy survival course
  • Fisherman’s safety training course certificate

Proof of at least six months' sea service.

A valid personal medical fitness certificate recognised by the MCA (ENG1 or equivalent). 

Photographic identification.

Accessibility tools

Change font size

Change colours