Proficiency in Survival Craft and Rescue Boats (STCW PSCRB)

About this course

 This course prepares crew for the launching and handling of survival craft.

A series of practical exercises using a range of open and enclosed lifeboats and inflatable rescue boats build confidence, competence and knowledge of safety procedures.

What our students say

  • "The amount of practical training was excellent.  The fact that you can practice real life situations in all positions on all types of survival craft is excellent." December 2012
  • "Very good comprehensive and well run course.  Good facilities and equipment and excellent staff knowledge. The two instructors' experience and teaching techniques made the course a success." December 2012
  • "Excellent course. Very enjoyable teaching; very helpful and informative. Thanks." November 2012
  • "Teaching and practical sessions was extremely marvellous; I enjoyed every bit of it. Many thanks to the instructors." November 2012
  • "Course was very well structured and appropriate content throughout. Experience and variety of instructor skill sets and instructional techniques was good." September 2012
  • "The instruction was particularly good; the instructors are enthusiastic about the subject and I was very happy with the practical instructions. I feel I now have a good understanding of the subject." September 2012
  • "All instructors and examiners were very knowledgeable, friendly and had good, relevant experience. Both classroom and pier head facilities were excellent. Looking forward to more courses at Warsash." July 2012

How to book

Please contact the admissions team if you require more information about this course:

Telephone: +44 (0)23 8201 5004 
Email: wma.training@solent.ac.uk

Normal office hours are (UK time):
Monday - Thursday: 08.30 - 17.00
Friday 08.30 - 16.30

Please be aware that online bookings will be confirmed with joining information within one working day of the booking being made. Confirmation of payment should be received in the normal way.

Please ensure that you follow the booking process and do not enter payment details more than once, unless you are booking more than one course. If you experience any issues, please email wma.training@solent.ac.uk.

 

Course availability and booking

Availability
Date Places Fee Book
Monday 8 January 2018 Yes £740 Book
Monday 22 January 2018 Yes £740 Book
Monday 5 February 2018 Yes £740 Book
Monday 12 February 2018 Yes £740 Book
Monday 19 February 2018 No £740 Enquire
Monday 26 February 2018 Yes £740 Book
Monday 5 March 2018 Yes £740 Book
Monday 12 March 2018 Yes £740 Book
Monday 19 March 2018 Yes £740 Book
Monday 9 April 2018 No £740 Enquire
Monday 16 April 2018 Yes £740 Book
Monday 30 April 2018 Yes £740 Book
Monday 14 May 2018 Yes £740 Book
Monday 21 May 2018 No £740 Enquire
Monday 4 June 2018 Yes £740 Book
Monday 11 June 2018 No £740 Enquire
Monday 18 June 2018 Yes £740 Book
Monday 25 June 2018 No £740 Enquire
Monday 2 July 2018 Yes £740 Book
Monday 16 July 2018 Yes £740 Book
Monday 23 July 2018 Yes £740 Book

Course information

Next available date

Monday 8 January 2018

Duration

5 Days

Price

£740

Approvals

MCA

Assessment

Oral questioning and practical exercises.

Prerequisites

For crew with suitable sea service experience.

Students require one of the following:

  • An approved Personal Survival Techniques certificate
  • Basic sea survival
  • Royal Navy survival course
  • Fisherman’s safety training course certificate

Proof of at least six months' sea service.

A valid personal medical fitness certificate recognised by the MCA (ENG1 or equivalent). 

Photographic identification.

Accessibility tools

Change font size

Change colours