Advanced Fire Fighting (STCW)

About this course

 This course is part of the training for deck and engineering officers who wish to qualify for a Certificate of Competency, and crew who are designated to control fire fighting operations.

It covers fire fighting procedures at sea and in port with particular emphasis on organisation, tactics and effective command including liaison with shore-based firefighters. It also covers topics such as ventilation control, hazards involving dangerous goods and the effects of firefighting water on ship stability.

Student testimonial

"The Warsash fire fighting [team] provide a world-leading training experience with great instructors [who are] always happy to share their vast experience and knowledge."

A variety of practical exercises involving fighting fires of different types and intensity are included. Students are assessed on their ability to successfully control fire fighting operations. 

NOTE: Delegates undergoing fire fighting training will be required to complete and sign a confidential medical declaration to make us aware of any health problems, disabilities or injuries that we may need to take into account whilst attending this physically demanding course.  It is therefore essential that delegates feel healthy and are physically fit to undertake such training.

How to book

Please contact the admissions team if you require more information about this course:

Telephone: +44 (0)23 8201 5004 
Email: warsash.admissions@solent.ac.uk

Normal office hours are (UK time):
Monday - Thursday: 08.30 - 17.00
Friday 08.30 - 16.30

Online bookings will be confirmed with joining information within one working day of the booking being made. Confirmation of payment should be received in the normal way.

Please ensure you follow the booking process and do not enter payment details more than once, unless you are booking more than one course. If you experience any issues, please email warsash.admissions@solent.ac.uk.

Your joining instructions will tell you which campus your training will take place at - please read carefully and take note.

 

Course availability and booking

Availability
Date Places Fee Book
Yes Enquire
Monday 4 November 2019 Yes £995 Book
Monday 18 November 2019 Yes £995 Book
Monday 2 December 2019 Yes £995 Book
Monday 16 December 2019 Yes £995 Book
Monday 13 January 2020 Yes £995 Book
Monday 3 February 2020 Yes £995 Book
Monday 17 February 2020 Yes £995 Enquire
Monday 2 March 2020 Yes £995 Book
Monday 9 March 2020 Yes £995 Book
Monday 30 March 2020 Yes £995 Book
Tuesday 14 April 2020 Yes £995 Book
Monday 4 May 2020 Yes £995 Book
Tuesday 26 May 2020 Yes £995 Book
Monday 15 June 2020 Yes £995 Book
Monday 6 July 2020 Yes £995 Book
Monday 13 July 2020 Yes £995 Book
Monday 27 July 2020 Yes £995 Book

Course information

Next available date

Monday 4 November 2019

Duration

4 days

Price

£995

Training towards

STCW Certificate of Proficiency in Advanced Fire Fighting

Approvals

MCA

Prerequisites

Any one of the following:
  • STCW Fire Prevention and Fire Fighting certificate
  • MNTB Stage One Fire Fighting course
  • Royal Navy Fire Fighting course
Fire Courses Criteria 1st Edition – May 2013 MNTB refer.

Please note that current OPITO training does not meet the requirements for these prerequisites.

Accessibility tools

Change font size

Change colours