Proficiency in Designated Security Duties

About this course

This one-day course is designed to give those undertaking designated security duties on board ship the essential education and training to enable them to:

  • Know why ship security is important and know the roles and responsibilities of the organisations and individuals involved
  • Understand what constitutes security risk, threat and vulnerability to the ship, its personnel, cargo and operations
  • Know the capabilities and limitations of security methods, equipment and systems
  • Know how to maintain the measures in a ship security plan and related requirements
  • Be able to maintain the effectiveness of security arrangements, procedures and equipment at the three security levels, taking into account their limitations.

Course delivery location

From September 2018, this course will be delivered from Solent University's main East Park Terrace campus in Southampton city centre. Please refer to your joining instructions for information of where to report to when you arrive. 

Southampton city centre map

Getting to Solent University

How to book

Please contact the admissions team if you require more information about this course:

Telephone: +44 (0)23 8201 5004 
Email: warsash.admissions@solent.ac.uk

Normal office hours are (UK time):
Monday - Thursday: 08.30 - 17.00
Friday 08.30 - 16.30

Online bookings will be confirmed with joining information within one working day of the booking being made. Confirmation of payment should be received in the normal way.

Please ensure you follow the booking process and do not enter payment details more than once, unless you are booking more than one course. If you experience any issues, please email warsash.admissions@solent.ac.uk.

Your joining instructions will tell you which campus your training will take place at - please read carefully and take note.

 

Course availability and booking

Availability
Date Places Fee Book
Yes Enquire
Thursday 5 December 2019 Yes £255 Book
Wednesday 11 December 2019 Yes £255 Book
Thursday 9 January 2020 Yes £255 Book
Thursday 16 January 2020 Yes £255 Book
Thursday 6 February 2020 No £255 Enquire
Thursday 13 February 2020 No £255 Enquire
Thursday 27 February 2020 No £255 Enquire
Thursday 5 March 2020 Yes £255 Book
Thursday 23 April 2020 No £255 Enquire
Thursday 30 April 2020 No £255 Enquire
Friday 22 May 2020 No £255 Enquire
Thursday 11 June 2020 No £255 Enquire
Thursday 18 June 2020 No £255 Enquire
Thursday 2 July 2020 Yes £255 Book
Thursday 9 July 2020 Yes £255 Book

Course information

Next available date

Thursday 5 December 2019

Duration

1 day

Price

£255

Approvals

MCA

Assessment

Competence is assessed throughout the course by direct observation, participation in exercises and feedback sessions and through questioning.

Teaching methods

Classroom based.

Accessibility tools

Change font size

Change colours